My New Job: The Bad

Well, that devolved quickly.

I guess I expected more of this school than I have of past teaching jobs, since it’s an international school that’s been around for over 50 years. But cue the chaos– schedules and teaching materials delivered a week after classes have begun, teachers and kids being shuffled around to different rooms and different classes (meaning we had to reintroduce ourselves about 5 times), general non-communication (A: I heard from so-and-so that we’re supposed to have a meeting at 4:30. B: Why didn’t anyone in a position of authority directly tell us this?) Etcetera etcetera.

However, the perk that normally comes with such an I-don’t-give-two-a-single-fuck kind of school is that you can do whatever you want with your classes. At this school, the parents are on your nuts all the time. They are paying a fortune for this school, comparable to US university tuition. So there are always parents standing outside of the classroom making sure that everything is perfect. Wait, how am I supposed to do that without a curriculum or even an idea of how long I’ll be asked to teach each day? When the Chinese teacher basically just says “your turn” and drops them in my lap for an undefined amount of time? Hmm, exactly.

There have also been some interesting messages being passed around by the Chinese teachers. One of my fellow English teachers was secretively told to “protect herself” by one of the Chinese teachers. Another one of the English teachers’ co-teacher constantly tells her, “Don’t worry, I’m not going to stab you in the back!” Thereby causing an instant sense that something ain’t right around here. I have already noticed a culture of reporting when anything, I mean ANYTHING, goes slightly wrong with one of the foreign teachers. Maybe it stems from resentment that we get paid twice as much as the local teachers. It does bother me that all four teachers of my grade are new this year– why so much turnover?

I have a headache.

Leave a Reply

