Meanwhile, back on the ranch…

Time at home was good, in a way… I sure missed my family. I got to pig out on all kinds of nasty junky American food, and zone out in front of the tv for a while. I didn’t have to put a lot of thought into getting around. But on the other hand, that’s exactly why I wanted to get away– so that I would be engaged in every moment of my life.

It was hard to adjust to being back in the US job market. Spending weeks intensely searching for jobs all day, with little to no turnout, was not something I had ever experienced, coming from university jobs and then ESL jobs. I managed to save quite a bit teaching English here in Chicago.

Then I decided to make some adventure out of this time in the States. I took a wilderness trip leader job at a girls’ camp in Wisconsin. I was supposed to lead canoe/climbing/backpacking trips. On the very first day after going through a month of training, including flying to NJ to become a certified wilderness first responder, I fell and badly sprained my ankle. I tried to wait out the injury at camp, but it just wasn’t getting any better. So now I am back home again, experiencing a lot of frustration.

The good news is that between the money I made at camp, and the money from teaching, I am almost ready to go back abroad! I’m looking at an August departure date. I won’t say where until I know for sure, wouldn’t want to ruin the surprise… but I am sailing through this time because I have something awesome to look forward to!!!

Leave a Reply

